Dear Daughter 

Therapoetic

Dear Daughter,

Forgive me
I apologize
For thinking my brokenness wouldn’t show through
For thinking I could hide it and it wouldn’t trickle down and fall on you
I’m sorry for the pieces
Sorry for the fractured sense of self I have to give you
Sorry I never healed so that you could be born whole
Sorry that I have this heavy anchor weighing on my soul
Sorry for only having shades of blue to pass down to you
And asking you to paint a life that doesn’t reflect pain
How could you look up at the sky and not expect for it to rain
It’s raining yet again
I can’t unbend
So don’t stay in this hole
Don’t drown here trying to love me
We don’t both have to die
Spread your broken wings and fly
Let the wind carry you through the sky

View original post

Standard

Leave a Reply

